Neglecting the Old Testament – Al Mohler

May 21, 2013

Al Mohler, President of the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, is right about 98.94% of the time. His excellent essay on the Old Testament is squarely within the bounds of his typical sound judgment. He also gives me one more opportunity to shamelessly plug my upcoming Old Testament Introduction, for which the syllabus is posted here Syllabus CFM OT. It is a great 12-week discussion and available “live” online.

Mohler observes the causes of Old Testament neglect and several ways in which it is misused by some preachers. You can read it all on the link below.

Throughout the Gospel of John, Jesus rebuked those who should know, who should see, who should hear, who should believe—and yet, will not. Jesus indicted the people who claimed to be not just the sons of Moses, but also the sons of Abraham—yet would not hear, believe, and be saved.

The Jews said to him,… ”Are you greater than our father Abraham, who died? And the prophets died! Who do you make yourself out to be?” Jesus answered, “If I glorify myself, my glory is nothing. It is my Father who glorifies me, of whom you say, ‘He is our God.’ But you have not known him [cf. John 5:37: “His voice you have never heard”]. I know him. If I were to say that I do not know him, I would be a liar like you, but I do know him and I keep his word. Your father Abraham rejoiced that he would see my day. He saw it and was glad.” So the Jews said to him, “You are not yet fifty years old, and have you seen Abraham?” Jesus said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, before Abraham was, I am.” (John 8:52–58)

But these words also rebuke the church of the Lord Jesus Christ in our own generation for our misuse and neglect of the Old Testament. In our own way, we can commit the same insult to both Christ and the Scriptures. For many, the Old Testament is simply a problem. Throughout the history of the Christian church, there have been those who have struggled to understand what to do with the Old Testament. Some of the sources of the problem are ideological and theological.

Neglecting the Old Testament – Online Bible Study Tools.

Leave a Reply

